#DSMonth Guest Blog Post by Nakita Pope, Founder of Branding Chicks


Happy Day 26 of #DigitalSisterhood Month! Happy #DigitalSisterhood Wednesday! Happy First Day of Kwanzaa – Umoja (Unity)!

Today, Digital Sisterhood Network is celebrating the voices of our community by sharing a guest blog post written by Nakita Pope, founder of Branding Chicks. Check out what Nakita has to say about the #DSMonth 2012 theme “Creativity + Great Health = Fierce Living Women.” To learn more about Nakita and her business, visit www.facebook.com/BrandingChicks. Follow her on Twitter: @brandingchicks.

Photo Credit: Nakita Pope

Photo Credit: Nakita Pope

Guest Blog Post by Nakita Pope, Founder of Branding Chicks

I love the Digital Sisterhood Month theme of Creativity + Great Health = Fierce Living Women. It’s something that resonates with me in a very real way, because I see the relationship between the two everyday in my life. In my heart I am an artist and creator, among other things. I’m blessed that part of my creative outlet IS my and people actually PAY me to do it! When I picked up my first box of crayons I never imagined that I would be able to do the thing that made my heart happy for the rest of my life. Although being creative is what I do for a living, no matter what you’re doing, you can bring creativity to it. But, you have to be healthy in order to have that metaphorical clean slate for creativity to show up.

There are so many aspects of your health. In my experience, being able to keep a sense of balance in my life is what creates the mental wellbeing that allows me to live, create, work, and love powerfully. As a soloprenuer, it’s easy to get overwhelmed with my endless list of things to do …. especially when I wear all of the hats.

However, creating and maintaining that balance is important and necessary for me. It’s what keeps me sane and when I feel most like myself. The biggest lesson I’ve learned is that I am the only one that can create that balance for myself. My mental health is not nearly as important to anyone else as it is to me, so I had to find ways to keep the joy in my work and my life. On those long lists of to-dos?….are also fun things. Yes. I make it an actual task that gets checked off on my list. Whether it’s a pedicure, a call to someone I love that I haven’t spoken to in a while, or to draw something just because I want to, it goes on the list! That way, I actually get to see the balance I’m creating for myself in a very tangible way daily.

When I neglect to do it, I notice the difference in how I deal with my clients, how inspired I am, and ultimately how FIERCE I am. Maybe my method won’t work for you, but I encourage you to look for ways to take care of yourself not only mentally, but physically. We as women have a tendency to take care of everyone but ourselves, but it’s that commitment to being powerfully whole that can allow you to have even more to give and more to create!

 

Leave a Reply

