Happy Day 1 of Digital Sisterhood Month (#DSMonth) – Guest Blog by Martine Foreman


Happy Digital Sisterhood Month 2012 (#DSMonth)!

It’s the first day of Digital Sisterhood Network’s third annual celebration of women in social media and tech. This year, we are kicking off #DSMonth with a  guest blog written by Martine Foreman, the founder of JustDiva. Grab a cup of something delicious and read more about our digital sister, Martine! Be sure to leave a comment and follow Martine on Facebook and Twitter.

Photo Credit: Martine Foreman

“Creativity + Great Health = Fierce Living Women”

I’ve always been a firm believer in the need for women to put themselves first.  After all, what good can you really be to anyone else if you are falling apart? None, really.  I also know that when I am at my best – physically, mentally, emotionally – I am able to offer the world my best.  It’s a great feeling, because giving any less doesn’t just disappoint those rooting for me – it disappoints me.

I recently launched a lifestyle email publication, JustDiva.  JustDiva has become a part of who I am… a driving force in my life.  And, launching a venture like this during a pregnancy, while also managing a full-time job, a marriage, a toddler, and a mother with health issues, has been no easy feat.  Thankfully, I have made it my business to take care of my spirit and to put my well being first. That choice has allowed my creative juices to flow.  Oh, how I love to exercise my power to choose.

JustDiva, a digitally-centric editorial product designed to cater to the lifestyle of the Modern Black Woman, was created because, after scouring the market, we truly felt there was a need for it.  JustDiva aims to deliver our subscribers a short, but editorially engaging, email that highlights the very best products, services, and experiences we can find in travel, fashion, beauty, tech, food, and much more.  I am dedicated to creating a product that our subscribers trust and simply love, and the best way for me to do that is to create something that I love – something that all my sister friends love.

As a mom, a wife, an educator, a friend, a daughter, a sister, and now an entrepreneur, I am confident that striking a balance between these roles will put me in a position to give our subscribers the very best through JustDiva.  Stylish, independent, and socially-conscious is how we define our audience, and as one of the driving forces behind JustDiva I feel obligated to be all of these things, and more. If I put my health first, let my creativity shine, and live my life as fiercely as I possibly can, JustDiva will shine through me.  The definition of a diva is a strong woman who put herself first and makes no apologies for it.  A diva truly believes that she deserves the best that life has to offer.  We hope we can make all our divas out there proud.

About Martine Foreman:

Martine Foreman, a New York City native, is the editor and co-founder of JustDiva.  You can also visit her personal blog at www.candidbelle.com. Martine resides in Maryland with her son, daughter, husband, and crazy cats, Spazz and Pepper. For more information, visit her web site and social media sites below.

Leave a Reply

