Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Carla Schwartz


Carla Schwartz

Meet Carla Schwartz

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

God loves me, therefore I love.

2) Tell us about your blog.

I started blogging in September 2010. I am an aspiring interior designer who had loved reading design blogs for years and decided to take matters into my own hands. My blog’s name is decorativity and the focus is interior design. I feature product roundups, artist interviews, design ideas & resources, and inspiring interiors. My favorite post from 2011 was also my most popular, when I went behind the scenes of the Design Star Auditions in Atlanta. It was such a memorable experience and I made some lasting friendships.  http://decorativity.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/blogging-the-design-star-auditions/

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

I consider digital sisterhood a network of support that reaches across physical boundaries. Blogging, attempting a career switch, finding time and space for creativity…these things are not always easy. I can’t tell you how much encouraging blog comments, emails and tweets have meant from my digital sisters. They keep me going and help me stay focused when times get hard and life gets crazy. I have some incredible bonds and precious advice from these relationships.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

This might have been technically the very end of 2010, but I had such a great time on the Digital Sisterhood Radio talking about the lavish! unconference. That was my first experience in that type of media and it was so cool. I also accomplished a dream in early 2011, publishing an article on Design*Sponge. This was a big goal of mine and everyone rallied digitally, sharing links to the article and cheering me on.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

Starting a blog in the latter half of 2010 got the ball rolling–2011 was all about following through. I tried to “fiercely” water the seeds I had planted. I’ve had cool opportunities come up in interior design, including freelance writing work. Freelancing was a goal I listed in the radio show a year ago, so I’m thrilled to now be published in print and online. As far as feelings (and food) living away from my parents, with friends all in our mid-20s has taught me communication skills, independent living skills, and given me an extended family of friends as we all try to figure out life together. I’ve also tried to take some non-conventional side jobs so that I can pursue my dreams more freely. I have now become a part-time gymnastics coach. So that pushes me to tackle Fitness 🙂

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

My faith in Jesus Christ is the only thing that truly gives me peace. Trusting God doesn’t always come easy but when I do, I see everything in a more positive light. My amazing family and friends also comfort me and make me smile!

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

I was raised to eat healthy, natural foods and enjoy everything else in moderation. Healthy food has so much more flavor than junk! I love fresh fruits, and crisp veggies like bell peppers and carrots. Hummus makes the perfect snack. Lately I’ve been putting orange blossom honey on everything. Two Peas & Their Pod is my current favorite food blog, everything they make looks delicious. I also love the recipe section of Self Magazine’s website. They make smart substitutions that still taste good, and everything I’ve cooked from this site has been a success.

8) How do you stay fit? 

I competed in gymnastics during high school and it’s my absolute favorite sport. I’ve remained a passionate fan, and now I get to use that passion for the sport and apply it to coaching! This is has been a crazy jump into the deep end of fitness after years away from the sport and struggles with injuries. But I have to say I love the challenge and it pushes me to try to maintain fitness every day of the week. I enjoy pilates, walking and stationary biking.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

I hope 2012 is the year I can move my career to the things I love full-time. It will likely be a combo of writing, designing and coaching, but I am ready to see major change! I also want to keep sharing my love of design through blogging.

10) Where can we find you online?

Blog: http://decorativity.wordpress.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/decorativity

Facebook: www.facebook.com/decorativity

2 thoughts on “Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Carla Schwartz

Leave a Reply

