Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Alinda Angerville


Alinda Angerville

Meet Alinda Angerville

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Loving Unconditionally, Learning daily, Living Fully

2) Tell us about your blog.

The idea of blogging was one that was born out of a strong urge to write that started when I was nine years old. A very avid reader and advanced for my age (Bullfinch’s Mythology was my favorite book at the age of 12); it was a natural progression to want to put down and write what I thought and felt. I started a diary at that age and have pretty much been journaling ever since.  My faith and my ability to express myself through writing has sustained me through personal tragedy – divorce, loss of a child and going back to college at the age of 44 and sustains me now as I am embarking  on a life that is “rebooted” and reshaped to embrace all the positivity that the future has in store.

When the Internet started to take off – I got involved in website design and development because my creative muse would not abide me having a cookie cutter site that looked like “everybody else’s”.  It was during that period of learning about website design and coding that I decided to start my own blog. The title “The Good Black Woman” was born out of what started as minor grumbling, but has blossomed into an ongoing discussion about black women and what a good one is, where you can find one etc.  The idea to have a blog that featured stories of interest from the perspective of ONE good black woman is the underlying motivation. My blog features articles on current events, health and lifestyle issues, tips and concerns, music, book reviews, politics and some women’s issues.

The blog has come a very long way from its early incarnation back in 2009. I look at it now and it’s almost not recognizable to what it was in comparison. Perusing through the posts of this year there are several that I would mark as favorites.  However one stands out more not only because of the topic but because of the accomplishment behind it.  I wrote a book review for the Pulitzer Prize winning book “The Warmth of Other Suns” by Isabel Wilkerson that appeared in the Claflin Panther – Claflin University newspaper.

The accomplishment for me was as significant as the article and the review itself.  It felt like I had come full circle and that the “desire” to write had finally met with the opportunities to write and be read.

The Warmth of Other Suns – Book Review

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

For me digital sisterhood is an evolution of the intangible bonds that have seen women through the ages. When society and government would not give us our due or even hear us or count us as people, we were supported by and borne up by the bonds of sisterhood that sustained us and gave us strength and courage to persevere.  The concept of sisterhood I believe has evolved into where it is not confined to just real time face to face interactions and that the same bonds can be cultivated, shared and strengthened via the Internet through social media networks and platforms.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

Finding out about Digital Sisterhood Network’s events and Twitter chats  brought me into contact with many talented sisters from all walks of life and from all over the globe.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

I have lived fiercely by maintaining a 4.0 GPA while working with a start-up IT consulting firm that is a Microsoft Partner providing website design and development services and managing several social media accounts which I am told is not bad for a non-traditional student.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

My faith and my ability to express myself through writing has sustained me through personal tragedy – divorce, loss of a child and going back to college at the age of 44. It sustains me now as I am embarking on a life that is “rebooted” and reshaped to embrace all the positivity that the future has.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

Fruit smoothies, veggie burgers (chicken and regular burgers), freshly made juice

8) How do you stay fit?

I jog (usually) 3 times a week. On my off days I do Pilates and/or calisthenics. I walk every day.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Expansion of services for  consulting firm including some hires and taking on some interns, finishing up the core courses for my degree, running in at least 2 5K races.

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog:  http://beattitudez.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Blkphoenix66

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Beattitudes56

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/aangerville56

Leave a Reply

