Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Veronica Arreola


Veronica Arreola

Meet Veronica Arreola

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

An exhausted feminist, mom, wife, friend

2) Tell us about your blog.

I started Viva la Feminista in July of 2007, but have been blogging since 2000. I write about my life, raising a girl in our world, feminism, politics (local and national), being Latina and any combination of those topics. I am also a bookworm and one of the joys of having my blog is being able to review books. I especially love reviewing books that are helpful in this thing we call parenting.

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Growing up I had girlfriends, but I have never felt so supported and loved. Digital Sisterhood is a great term for that love and support that so many of us women do for each other. Whether it is retweeting our posts or sending a message when we blog about how life has dropped us a bag of lemons, I know my Digital Sisters are here for me. Each time I need support, I know I can send a message out into the world and I am overwhelmed with supportive messages.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

The second edition of “Summer of Feminista” at my blog: http://www.vivalafeminista.com/search/label/summeroffeminista. I continue to be amazed at the level of responses I receive for this series. Not just the number of responses, but the quality of thought. Latinas sharing their thoughts with the world, on my blog. It is humbling.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

Wow…this is a tough question. I guess I would have to say that the fact that I just finished my third semester of my doctoral program, that’s pretty fierce. It doesn’t feel like it most days, but I finished and am proud of the work I did in my classes.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I  lean on my family. Cuddling with my daughter and husband is a cure all for any bad day. I have two best friends who are really family. We have a big family dinner on occasion and it’s really healing. Home-cooked meal, full tummy and great friends. I also have made it a must to have a girls night out dinner with three of my best girlfriends when I can. I love being with them!

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

I’m such a failure at this! But I did go through a phase of making my lunch every day that consisted of cheese cubes, fresh fruit, a few small pieces of bread and yogurt. I work in an office and snack a lot, so the more small food I can have, the better. It keeps me from the evil vending machine.

8) How do you stay fit?

More failure! I need a Digital Sisterhood intervention!

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Again, I will try to do more to be fit. I let myself get so wrapped up in work and school that I’m not taking time for myself. I’ve been trying to walk the stairs in my office building. My daughter and I heard a story on NPR about how sitting on your butt all day can raise your chances of cancer. It totally freaked her out. And yes, that got me moving.

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog: www.vivalafeminista.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/veronicaeye

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/veronicaarreola

Leave a Reply

