Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Tracy Chiles McGhee


Tracy Chiles McGhee

Meet Tracy Chiles McGhee

1. Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Love-filled, Country-raised, City-stirred, Book-smarted, Will-strengthened, Dream-womanifested

2. Tell us about your blog.

I have both professional and personal blogs. The professional blog is the website of an organization I founded called WOMANIFESTING (WOMA). WOMA is a DC-based, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) status non-profit whose mission is to develop and support programs that foster self-empowerment, sisterhood, and service in order to positively impact the lives of women and girls, particularly those under-resourced and marginalized. . I currently serve as Executive Director. This blog was launched in February 2010. We blog about topics of interest to women. We focus on health and wellness, career development, financial literacy, civic and cultural engagement, and teen girl empowerment. One of my favorite blogs of the year was written by Benita Robinson Osbey, a fierce survivor of ovarian cancer. Check it out at:  http://www.womanifesting.org/apps/blog/show/10138264-my-womanifesting-story-benita-robinson-osbey. We are always seeking womanifesting stories from women that inform and inspire. Please inquire at tmcghee @ womanifesting dot org if you would like to share your story.

I’ve had a personal blog called Passionate Self by Tracy since 2010 where I share writing about things I’m passionate about. It has been inactive this past year as I focused my energies on writing the first draft of a novel and other projects, but there are plenty of postings still there to read and enjoy. I am active on its sister page on Facebook where I share quotes to inspire others to live passionately and to pursue their dreams. Finally, this year, I started a blog/website under my name where I share how I merge all of my passions together (http://tracychilesmcghee.webs.com/).

3. What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

My view of digital sisterhood in analogous to the definition of womanifesting, which is what happens as a woman recognizes, celebrates, and shares her brilliance and uses that brilliance to serve, uplift, and inspire others, particularly women. Digital Sisterhood uses the power of social media and web-based tools to strengthen sisterhood, to foster support, and to create a bigger impact through information-sharing, messaging and calls to action. Offline connections are fueled by online connections and vice-versa. There is a sense of moving forward together in Digital Sisterhood without geographic boundaries

4. What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

On March 19, 2011, WOMA hosted an event in conjunction with the District of Columbia (DC) Public Library, entitled WOMANIFESTING IN ACTION, in honor of our 1st anniversary and Women’s History Month. The event brought together local women leaders to share how they use collaboration, community building, and social activism to further their causes and to make a difference. One of the highlights of the event came when Yasmine Arrington, a local DC high school student, delivered a riveting “Call to Action” speech. Yasmine spoke with great wisdom and clarity of purpose. As a surprise to Yasmine, Councilmember Muriel Bowser, Ward 4 of the Council of the District of Columbia, presented her with a resolution from the Council honoring her for her outstanding accomplishments, for taking the initiative to establish a scholarship fund for aspiring students with incarcerated parents called ScholarCHIPS, and for being an excellent role model to youth and an inspiration to us all.

5. The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.”  How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

It was definitely a challenging year but I have continuously made the effort to empower myself with knowledge that feeds my mind, body, and spirit. I’ve also been passionate in following my dreams, accomplishing goals, building positive relationships, and sharing gifts.

6. How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

On a daily basis, I seek inspiration, wisdom, and guidance through scriptures, books, art, quotes, and stories of people making a difference. I meditate to let it all sink in. I write, write, write. I maintain a home in which I am surrounded by things I love and things that comfort me. A home should give you the feeling of being cozy under a soft blanket as you look out to a wonderful view with a smile. Finally, I surround myself with like-spirited, drama-free people and enjoy what life has to offer when you are fully engaged.

7. What are your favorite healthy foods? 

Red grapes, cabbage, bananas, broccoli, almonds, salmon –all equal yum.

8. How do you stay fit?

I like to mix it up through walking, working out in the gym, and doing on-demand exercise routines at home. My daughter Sasha is an excellent work-out partner. My next move is to incorporate yoga into my lifestyle.

9. How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Repeat all that worked in 2011 and stay open and ready to learn the lessons the new year will surely bring. I know living fiercely begins with loving and taking care of me first. When my cup is full and I give from the overflow–peace, joy and a sense of balance abounds.

10. Where can we find you online?

I have several spots. The door is always open. Stop by and sit a spell. Share your dreams with me. Let’s support each other in the spirit of digital sisterhood and womanifesting.

-TRACY CHILES MCGHEE

-WOMANIFESTING

-PASSIONATE SELF BY TRACY

 

Leave a Reply

