Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Deb Rox


Deb Rox

Meet Deb Rox

1. Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

No settling, no regrets, no fear.

2. Tell us about your blog.

I’ve blogged since 2007 at Deb on the Rocks, where I blog a mix of life stories, journal entries, humor and pop culture/current affairs commentary. It’s a Yahtzee cup–sometimes I don’t even know if a full house or a straight will shake out. I like having an open space that’s mine to play with or put on ice for a while. My favorite post was Manifesto: In Praise of Humor Bloggers, because often the funny women online get me through the day.

3. What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

The digital sisterhood is such a beautiful concept, because it embraces everything that is good about helping others and receiving help in an extended, powerful network. The connection of women online inspires me, fires up my start-up blood, sets us all up for success, cheers me out of doldrums, and is a constant reminder to me of the infinite brilliance and good heartedness of women everywhere.

4. What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

Oh, too many! I’ve loved being a part of the Listen to Your Mother Show national launch last year. As a business development consultant, it’s such a deep privilege to see someone’s truly important dream take flight, and Ann Imig’s project is amazing. I also am completely, wildly thrilled to be a part of evolving the website Violence UnSilenced into a full-fledged not-for-profit organization! That’s the power of the digital sisterhood right there–Maggie Ginsburg-Schutz’s genius idea to use the Internet to break the silence around domestic violence and rape, supported by a web community of survivors and readers, now buoyed by a fierce and skilled Board of Directors to take it to the next level. Such a great year!

5. The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

2011 was incredibly transformational for me. I completely changed my business development agency. I finalized a needed divorce, and removed some toxic people and things from my life. I sold some business entities that I had developed and I bought or invested in others, including the website ShePosts, which has been totally exciting. I’ve been fierce in making decisions and acting on them without regret. Fortunately not every year is this dramatic, but there is a lot of power in riding the waves of change with determination.

6. How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

Writing is a contemplative space for me, as are occasional dips into supportive counseling. I am so lucky to have many wise and gorgeous-hearted friends and two beautiful sons, all of whom give me hugs and perspective and bouts of side-splitting laughter–which is a necessity, I believe.

 7. What are your favorite healthy foods?

Avocados, watermelon, pumpkin, nutritional yeast, kale. I might have a problem with kale, actually. Can you eat too much kale?

 8. How do you stay fit?

Walking my Golden Retriever River every day, he’s my yogini in more ways than one. Two friends have inspired me to start swimming this fall, which feels sort of kooky but I like it. It’s a great gravity defying activity, so it’s sort of a super power. I definitely need to ramp this sector up for more wellness in 2012.

 9. How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

With all that has transpired in the past year, I plan to embrace some contemplative time in 2012 to make sure I’m headed to where I want to be. I’m going to write, much more, and make that a fiercely protected priority.

10. Where can we find you online?

Blog: www.debontherocks.com

Website: www.sheposts.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/debontherocks

Leave a Reply

