Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Melanie Calhoun


Melanie Calhoun

Meet Melanie Calhoun

1. Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Ordinary trying to accomplish the extraordinary

2. Tell us about your blog.

I have two blogs. My main blog is The Savvy Sista which covers everything from social issues, current events, and politics.

My other blog which has allowed for a more  introspective into my life is called Black Girl Singular. Black Girl Singular deals with life issues i.e. relationships from the prospective of a single black female who’s just trying to navigate
this world.

I’ve been able to compose some of my best writing on Black Girl Singular but I have to admit one of my all time favorite posts this year comes from the Father’s Day Post I did on The Savvy
Sista entitled, ‘Don’t You Think It’s Time to Forgive Your Father Already’. You can read it here: http://www.the-savvy-sista.com/2011/06/dont-you-think-its-time-to-forgive-your.html.

3. What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

I see digital sisterhood being an extension of real sisterhood. It’s about women coming together and supporting and uplifting each other. It’s enough factors out in the world that’s trying to tear us down. It’s
important that we have each other’s back.

4. What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment of experience?

My favorite moment has been my ability to connect with other women of diverse backgrounds whether it’s been through conversing on BlogTalkRadio or email exchanges. I’ve been able to gain a lot of
knowledge this year by being able to build up quite a network.

5. The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness, & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

I’ve lived fiercely by living my own truth and not allowing my life to be defined by other’s expectations. I’m the architect of my life. It wasn’t until I fully grasped that concept that I began to live fiercely.

6. How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I’m a firm believer in the fact that everything happens for a reason. There is a divine plan for all things in life and bu holding to that principle I’m able to have peace of mind. There are always going to be things
not within my control, but by believing there’s purpose in those things I’m able to stay steady and positive.

7. What are your favorite health foods?

I honestly can’t say I have a list of favorite healthy foods. I believe deeply in having a healthy body and that’s why I try to do a cleanse once a year. The one I do is by Dr. Natura and it’s for 30 days. I believe that doing this as
well as eating a balance diet and exercise is the best way to a healthy body.

8. How do you stay fit?

I recently purchased an elliptical so I can do a little more cardio. I’ve always been a fan of pilates, but I realized I needed to get a little more cardio in my life.

9. How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

I plan to continue on the path that I am on; being obedient to the universe and continuing to greet people with a smile.

10. Where can we find you online?

Web Sites: www.the-savvy-sista.com and www.blackgirlsingular.com

Radio: www.blogtalkradio.com/thesavvysista

Twitter: www.twitter.com/thesavvysista

Facebook: www.facebook.com/savvy.sista

Leave a Reply

