Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Julie Diaz Asper


 

Julie Diaz Asper

Meet Julie Diaz Asper

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Friendly, Joyful, Curious, Compassionate, Creative and Sensitive

2) Tell us about your blog.

I blog about social media and what I have learned from working with clients and bloggers at www.blog.gigcoin.com.  I also like to feature companies and individuals doing creative and simple things that work. I launched the Gigcoin blog in November 2010 when I was in the process of launching the GigCoin platform. Gigcoin is an Elance type of platform geared up for blogger gigs (surveys, user testing, writing, videos, promotional support). We have robust social media profiles that help you to quickly identify which blogger might be a good fit for your gig. We believe it’s an efficient way to recruit bloggers.  You can post the gig and see who applies versus having to chase down each individual blogger. It’s takes less work and gives you a broader talent pool. You also save time on managing and paying for the work because it’s automated. From our work with smaller companies we felt that businesses needed more tactical, real world examples and simple tips on how to use social media so that is the focus of the GigCoin blog.

One of my favorite posts from the blog was a profile of Jimmy’Z Kitchen because I love their approach to social media. They spend a lot of time building passionate fans versus focusing on the numbers. I also got meet some great Miami folks via that post. Here is the post: http://blog.gigcoin.com/jimmyz-kitchen-how-to-get-super-fans-not-just-likes.

I’ve also started Sol y Pimienta, a Spanish language blog which is mostly a vblog. I love cooking and it’s a joy to work with my best friend Chef Laura in the kitchen. She cooks and I film and edit. My favorite recipe is the turkey one we did for Thanksgiving, which I actually made for the first time this Thanksgiving. It was good! Here is the post: http://www.solypimienta.com/comer-hacer-pavo-para-thanksgiving-con-sabor-latino.

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Connecting with, supporting and promoting your fellow digital sisters in their quest for healthier, happier and more productive lives. From small gestures to significant help, we can all do our part to support a digital sister.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

I have many, but a favorite is running into a digital sister randomly and having a spontaneous opportunity to talk, laugh and bond with each other. I love moments that are not planned or pre-meditated.  When it just happens. I had a recent moment with Ananda at the Macy’s Heart for Haiti event on December 1.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.”  How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

I have lost a lot of the fear I had when I started running my own business in 2010. I jumped and managed to survive. It builds character to do that!

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I take time out for fun. I try to schedule the fun not just the work. I hang with my family and see my friends. Nothing makes me calmer than cooking for tons of people.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

I love greens like kale, collard greens and Chinese snow pea leaves. I like to stir fry my greens with ginger garlic and a little oil. It’s fast and good.

8) How do you stay fit?

I need to get back on the fitness track. I do best when I work in moving into everyday task – walk instead of drive, talk while walking versus at my desk and just move more. I love yoga but I need to make that more of a habit.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

No fear and lots of joy. Notice and enjoy the small stuff!

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog:  www.gigcoin.com and www.solypimienta.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/juliediazasper

Facebook: www.facebook.com/gigcoin and www.facebook.com/solypimienta

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/juliediazasper

Leave a Reply

