Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Heather Coleman


 

Heather Coleman

Meet Heather Coleman

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

She flies with her own wings.

2) Tell us about your blog.

I started blogging using WordPress in 2009 after getting more involved with social media platforms. The name of my blog is Twisted Turtle, paying tribute to my twisted sense of humor and love for turtles. I blog about social media, family, entertainment, the DC area, and just about anything else that pops into my head.

My favorite post for 2011 is the recap I did for the Ignite event held on October 20th. I was lucky enough to be selected to speak at Ignite DC back in February and have been hooked on them ever since. I used Storify to collect tweets and photos from attendees and shared it on my blog. It can be read here:-  http://twistedturtle.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/ignite-dc-ignitedc-no-8-recap.

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Digital Sisterhood is the idea of a tightly knit community brought together by a shared love and passion for expressing ourselves through the digital medium. We help share the message of Digital Sisterhood whenever and wherever we can.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

I thoroughly enjoyed participating in Digital Sisterhood Radio’s Feminism Online Project and being interviewed as a part of the DC Social Media Women episode in May with Tamara Rasberry. It was a great opportunity to hear our different experiences and points of view on the topics of feminism and how it relates to social media.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

I lived fiercely in 2011 by sharing some extremely personal feelings and experiences on the public stage in hopes of helping others feel less alone in their own experiences. I faced and conquered a lot of demons in doing so.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I learned the hard way how important it is to step back, take a break from daily stressors and ask for help when I need it. Now I am a firm believer in surrounding myself with positive people and prioritizing what is most important in my life so I know where to focus my time and energy. I break projects and tasks down into smaller chunks and do one thing at a time as much as possible. My kids help keep me positive too by giving me a fresh perspective on the world around me.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

My recent faves are spinach and blueberries.

8) How do you stay fit?

I wish I could say I have stayed fit, but I have been weak in this area since having kids. Before kids I was training for a half marathon. I’m starting back with walking and hope to work back up to running again. I would love to try yoga for the first time.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

My focus in 2012 is getting physically healthy again. I’m also challenging myself to learn a couple of brand new skills, including website design (Drupal).

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog: http://twistedturtle.wordpress.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/heathercoleman

Facebook: www.facebook.com/heathermariecoleman

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/heathermcoleman

Leave a Reply

