Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Lauree Ostrofsky


Lauree Ostrofsky

Meet Lauree Ostrofsky

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

I’m scared and doing it anyway.

2) Tell us about your blog.

My blog for Simply Leap looks at every aspect of life – career, motherhood, relationships, values and goals – from the perspective that life gets easier if we let it be. Even the toughest moments of our lives can be less complicated by removing the “shoulds.” The blame and guilt we usually place on ourselves. I challenge myself and my readers to see what’s really happening, to recognize what we truly have control over, and to go for it. No kidding.  I started blogging in January 2005 when I was applying to art school in Manhattan. My first ever post was my Artistic Purpose. I still refer to it years later because it speaks to how I engage with my coaching clients just as much as how I create art. http://bit.ly/1Vb9Io

My favorite blog post from 2011 was published on my birthday. It’s called, “The story of my life,” and is an honest look at how I let fear stand in the way of getting what I really want: love. The moment I started giving love generously to the people in my life, many of whom I barely knew, was the moment I started getting more love than I’d ever thought was possible. And there’s even more love to come, I know that. http://bit.ly/q362sj

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Digital sisterhood means we’re in this together. The digital experience is bringing more women together than ever before, for moral support and inspiration. I’m excited to be part of it.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

I’d say meeting Ananda, but that was in 2010!  Launching my #hugtour on Twitter in April was my favorite digital experience this year. Receiving an outpouring of support (from mainly from women) for something I believe in so strongly — that a hug is a simple and powerful way to show the people in your life that you care — has been immensely gratifying.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

My motto and mantra, and now six-word memoir, speaks to that. There have been a number of ways I’ve been scared and doing it anyway in 2011. Unabashedly giving love, as I described before, is one of them.  Also, recognizing that someone has to go first. If I want my clients to take a big step into the unknown, I have to be willing to as well.  Because of that, I’ve shared more openly this year on my blog and am in the middle of writing a book about my journey from fear to love. Being honest with myself and others can feel scary and daunting, but pushing through it I’ve been happy with the results. I hope my clients and loved ones can say the same.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

Being silly is powerful stuff. Nothing puts life into perspective better than a belly laugh, even at my own expense.  This year I’ve been more conscious about enjoying my time, whether alone on the couch watching British period pieces or hosting friends for a dinner party and gossip fest.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

I love farmers’ markets. I’m inspired by the mix of color and displays. Thus, my favorite health foods tend to be seasonal.  I could write poetry about the taste of peaches and tomatoes in the summer. I admit that I’ve broken out into song over a tomato sandwich more than once.  This time of year I like parsnips and leeks, sometimes together. I try to steer away from gluten so I’m always trying hot breakfast cereals made with other grains like quinoa and millet.

8) How do you stay fit?

I miss living in New York City in a building without an elevator. The extra steps were an easy workout every day. I love exercise that is part of my routine rather than that requires equipment or a gym membership. I run, walk, take the stairs, and do yard work when I’m with my family. I also practice yoga.  In terms of formal workouts, I just started using the Nike Training Club app for the iPhone. Great workouts in every chunk of time, from 15 minutes to an hour or more. The instructional videos are clear, and there is just enough encouragement to keep going. I have no excuse not to fit one in wherever I am (though I still make excuses).

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Fierce is a tough word for me. I don’t imagine anything I do being fierce. Bold, challenging, honest, simple and profound, I can get behind.  This year I plan to be myself. To ask for what I want and know that I deserve it. To be surprised and delighted by the opportunities that come into my life.

10) Where can we find you online?

Leave a Reply

