Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Maria de Los Angeles – @ViceQueenMaria


Maria de Los Angeles

Meet Maria de Los Angeles

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Big ass, big heart, big words

2) Tell us about your blog.

I started blogging at ‘Sex and the Beach: A Single Woman’s Guide to Chronic Living’ in 2005. The blog has evolved quite a bit since then. Currently I write about travel, food, spirits (the imbibing kind), blogging, social media, sex, fishing, nature, culture, pirates, humor, yoga, and whatever else tickles my fancy and other parts. My favorite post from 2011? That’s a tough one. How about this recent one about a milestone fishing trip in Islamorada: http://sexandthebeach.blogspot.com/2011/11/inshore-fishing-with-captain-bob-jones.html

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

The online and offline support and camaraderie of women self-publishers in our blogging community around the world.

4) What is your favorite digital 2011 sisterhood moment or experience?

Meeting and interacting with you all at Blogalicious last year!

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

OMG! I started making a list of what I’ve done and accomplished this year and it was pretty damn fierce. Just scratching the surface: everything from speaking solo at conferences, teaching custom blogging seminars, learning to build a WordPress, covering travel stories all over the state of Florida, losing some weight, getting back into yoga asana practice and fishing — two of my long lost passions. I organized SxSe again, a fun weekend-long tweetup in the Florida Keys. Worked with some great brands on fun projects: Martin Miller’s Gin and GM Southeast (Chevy), among others. Read a story to a live audience as part of the Lip Service program, which was featured on local WLRN, part of National Public Radio. With my pirates: fired a real gunpowder weapon while sailing on a schooner, practiced sword fighting and became a reenacter in training. I rescued a dying royal tern. I put my foot down and started organizing HeartCamp, an ‘unconference’ I’ve wanted to do for two years. I also won a car and got a grant to make short films. Celebrated a year of my co-hosted online radio show, Social Chats. On video, I interviewed some interesting people as well, including Ron Jeremy, Rick Sanchez, Richard Patterson and more. To boot, I won BEST PERSONAL TWITTER feed by popular public vote at the Sun Sentinel’s blog awards. There’s more I’ve done … the list is long! Everything is coming full circle.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

Vodka. Just kidding. When I am not practicing asana (yoga poses) I still practice “yoga” in my writing and actions. I try to be compassionate without being a doormat. Also, as I am recovered from anxiety disorder, I breathe deep when I catch myself getting anxious and I give permission to myself to relax and not worry about things. Worry is pointless.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

If it grows on a tree or on the ground and Mother Nature made it, it’s my favorite. Lots of veggies and fruit, minimally processed. I like to create meals out of sautéed onions, garlic, herbs, spices, veggies, nuts and a protein of choice. I also love quinoa and fresh veggie juices.

8) How do you stay fit?

I’m still in the process of getting back to my ‘normal’ weight but I enjoy walking (1 hour minimum at a stretch, brisk pace) and a vinyasa-style yoga practice. Sometimes I mix it up with a few Pilates-style routines.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Staying on this awesome path I’ve carved for myself. To start, I’ve got HeartCamp coming up on February 4 plus I need to make those films.

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog:  http://sexandthebeach.blogspot.com
Twitter: @vicequeenmaria (follow at your own peril)
Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/ilikesexandthebeach
LinkedIn:  http://www.linkedin.com/in/mariadelosangeles

Leave a Reply

