Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Marie Denee


Marie Denee

Marie Denee's eBook

Meet Marie Denee

Marie Denee is the plus size fashion and lifestyle blogger behind The Curvy Fashionista. She also talks the business of plus size fashion on her new blog, MarieDenee.com. In November, she launched her very first eBook, Keeping it Curvy. Confident. Chic. Her book introduces you to the fabulous world of plus size fashion.  Click here to buy it.

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

KumBahYa, Curvy. Confident. Chic. Driven. Passionate

2) Tell us about your blog.

I started the Curvy Fashionista as a plus size resource blog in December 2008 as a side project. Turning three years now, my blog has evolved into a lifestyle blog for the discerning plus size woman, covering plus size fashion, accessories, trends, beauty, lifestyle and random thoughts about life and the industry!

My favorite blog post sums up the opportunities in plus size fashion, the frustrations, concerns, and issues as a plus size woman: No Shade, But Can I Get A Plus Model?

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

I think digital sisterhood is about the bigger picture – thinking outside yourself and supporting other women in the community who are carving their own paths online. I also feel that digital sisterhood is a network of women to come together to celebrate, uplift, encourage, and recognize each other for our efforts!

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital  sisterhood moment or experience?

I think watching Gabi Fresh gain the title of MTV’s Twitter Jockey was an amazing moment. Watching the community and fellow bloggers and influentials reach up and lift her to that place was one of the most amazing moments I have witnessed in my blogging career!

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

Ha! Facing my feelings and living fiercely! I think those two have pushed me to another level this year! Facing my feelings of fear allowed me to step out on faith and launch my very first eBook! In addition, I have overcome other fears and am finally taking the time to stop and smell the roses by celebrating my blog with a party! I never gave myself time to celebrate, and through have amazing friends, I have given myself time to celebrate me!

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I am constantly reminding myself how fortunate I am to have a career I am passionate about and I remain grateful and grounded in myself. I surround myself with amazingly positive and motivating women who are like minded and spirited! In addition I believe my faith has allowed me the opportunity to see the glass half full!

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

Although not technically a food… I LOVE my gummy bear vitamins. Turning 30 this year, I became more aware of my body and health and have been conscious to take vitamins (from One A Day) multivitamins with DHA!

8) How do you stay fit?

I think I fail at this often, but thanks to XBOX Kinect, I have started on yoga and soon to Zumba! This is definitely a key point for me to improve on, especially as I have a family issue of high blood pressure and diabetes!

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Taking care of me mentally, physically, and emotionally! I have been grinding for three years, that I have not given myself credit for the small successes I have had in my life. I will take more vacations and staycations, maintain a healthy work life balance, and celebrate the little victories!

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog: www.thecurvyfashionista.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/mariedenee

Facebook: www.facebook.com/thecurvyfashionista

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/mariedenee

Leave a Reply

