Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Adrienne Fikes, Founder of Soul Power, LLC


Welcome to the launch of Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series which features a diverse group of social media women we have come to admire and adore.

Photo Credit: Adrienne Fikes

 

Photo Credit: Adrienne Fikes

Meet Adrienne Fikes, founder of Soul Power, LLC.

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Unspeakable Joy, Song, Growth, Peace, Laughter

2) Tell us about your blog.

I began contributing to emPower News Magazine in the summer of 2011. I write pieces for the Motivational Monday blog. I’m still a newbie since, my entire social media existence started in August 2010 with the creation of my Soul Power Coach Facebook business page and twitter account. I also started Soul Power eNews which is now a weekly newsletter of cool tips, challenges, & insights revolving around the 12 Soul Power Life Areas.

My favorite blog post was one I wrote this summer about unspeakable joy: http://liukarama.typepad.com/empowermagazine/2011/08/motivational-monday-.html

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Digital sisterhood is the movement of amazing women shifting the way we naturally connect, support, and encourage each other into online formats

4) What is your favorite digital 2011 sisterhood moment or experience?

My favorite moment was using my digital connections to help promote, support, and raise funds for my 17 year old niece to travel to Moscow, Russia to train formally in the Bolshoi Academy of Ballet. I was truly touched particularly by the sisterhood of support that showed up to spread the word and help her dream come true. Another cool part of this experience is helping my 87 year old grandmother send video messages to my niece while she is overseas.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

Oh my goodness, you don’t even know the half of it! Talk about fierce living, I’ve spent the better part of this year fiercely challenging my own negative feelings and limiting beliefs about who I am and what I can do. I keep finding ways to scare myself into being bigger and better than I was before! At this point, it has become a game to me because I keep surprising myself with these challenges. I’m finally settling into the rhythm of being an entrepreneur with one job. So the craziest challenge I took this year was to periodically slow down, relax, and give myself permission to do absolutely nothing. The sky didn’t fall. I’m sleeping more peacefully than ever and somehow I’m managing to get even more done that before.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I allow myself room to be simply and authentically who I am by using the same coaching tools I share with my clients. Even being a naturally positive empowering person, we all have those inner “uglies” that are the underbelly of our being. There is something particularly insidious about people who coach and encourage others being lured into acting as if we have evolved past the point of having to address our “uglies.” Owning up to my inner ‘uglies’ is always the toughest part about facing them for me. Every time I clear out more “uglies” it gives me higher levels of love, joy, courage, confidence, and peace of mind.

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

It changes. I should say it all revolves around spinach. Right now I’m practically living off of making a variety of smoothies and thin crust veggie pizzas because they are my versions of how mom made stew. The ingredients depend on what I have in the fridge. I love eating foods that are simple, fresh, healthy, & flavorful. I like visiting sites like therawpalate.com for new ideas when the mood strikes me to switch up recipes.

8) How do you stay fit?

I dance to stay fit and for pure joy with my Daylight DC family and any other chance I get to sweat to great music. I love dancing for hours sometimes until my legs get wobbly and my feet start to hurt. I was an athlete growing up so I love being active but I’ve never been a fan of “exercise.” A few years ago I started walking which turned into running out of a personal curiosity & challenge. I got addicted to it quickly and simultaneously hated running especially in the cold and rain. The rain wasn’t so bad but I’m a cold weather punk. Dancing is my thing. It’s as much about fitness as it is a spiritual/mental thing for me.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

Everything in my life is about upping my unspeakable joy! My main plans in 2012 revolve around taking my coaching business to the next level and this is also how I encourage others to live fiercely. I’m bringing more structure, support, and staff on to expand in an even bigger way.

One of my upcoming projects that I’m excited about is incorporating more video into my online presence. I’m exploring the possibility of a regular video blog. Aside from the business, I have plans to strengthen my offline sisterhood network of friends and family by relying more on our face to face connections and support.

10) Where can we find you online?

Leave a Reply

