Who was the first feminist in your life? Are you a feminist? What do you think about feminism online?


Today,  I read Barbara Hannah Grufferman’s article “Feminism: A Moral Compass for Change?” on the Huffington Post’s web site and made note of several inspiring statements.  See below.

  • “Singer Annie Lennox, in an interview with Marianne, shared her views: I get very frustrated when I hear women saying, ‘Oh, feminism is passé,’ because feminism means empowerment. We need feminism. It’s not against men; it’s about the empowerment of all.”
  • “To embrace feminism is to embrace this fundamental truth: every human being has rights.”
  • “But, to be a brave feminist, you must ignore the noise, speak up, use your voice and be true to your own convictions.”
  • “Playwright Eve Ensler offers this advice: Give voice to what you know to be true, and do not be afraid of being disliked or exiled. I think that’s the hard work of standing up for what you see.”

The article also made me think about the first feminist in my life.

Who was the first feminist in your life?

My mother Theresa was the first feminist in my life. She taught me:

1) I have a voice and a vote to make myself known and heard,

2) My feelings, thoughts, and opinions matter,

3) I can be anything I want to be in the universe,

4) Girls and boys are equal, and

5) Women and men are equal.

Are you a feminist?

I am.  I call myself a third wave global feminist who was born from the womb of a self-made feminist who created space for me to define my life on my terms.  My favorite feminist book is Feminism is for Everybody by bell hooks.

In the late 70s, 80s, and 90s, I baptized myself in the words  of women who looked like me: Alice Walker, Marcia Ann Gillespie, Susan Taylor, bell hooks, Toni Cade Bambara, all of the women authors who contributed to the book The Black Woman, Julia Boyd, Beverly Guy-Shefall, Tricia Rose, Renita Weems, Joan Morgan, and Rebecca Walker. I added the word global to my personal definition of feminist after I attended the United Nations Fourth World Conference for Women in Beijing, China in 1995.

How do you self-identify as a feminist in 2010?

In 2010, I self-identify as a third wave global feminist who lives a feminist chic life online and offline.

Do you read about feminism online? If yes, what are some of your favorite sites and  Facebook pages? What feminists do you follow on Twitter?

I am a self-proclaimed Internet geek who adores information.  With that said, you should know that I do read about feminism online. My favorite sites include (this is a very short list):

Some of my favorite feminist people on Twitter include (this is another short list):

  • @veronicaeye
  • @digitalsista
  • @fem2pt0
  • @feministteacher
  • @divafeminist
  • @lizhenry
  • @cripchick
  • @alizasherman
  • @newblackman
  • @glopan
  • @quirkyblackgirl
  • @drgoddess
  • @forharriet
  • @feministing

What do you think about feminism online?

I have a lot of thoughts about feminism online that I plan to share with a panel of eight amazing women on the December 16th episode of Digital Sisterhood Radio at 9:00 pm EST on Talkshoe.com. The panel includes:

1. Shireen Mitchell “the original Digital Sista”, Speaker, trainer, and thought igniter in media, tech, and politics;

2. Stacey Milbern, Disability justice organizer, poet, and radical woman of color feminist blogger;

3. Veronica Arreola, Professional feminist, mom, writer, speaker, PhD student, and blogger;

4. Liz Henry, BlogHer web developer, geek feminist/sci-fi blogger, speaker, poet, and literary translator;

5. Mimi Schippers, Tulane University professor, blogger, and author of Rockin’ Out of the Box: Gender Maneuvering in Alternative Hard Rock;

6. Treva Lindsey, University of Missouri-Columbia professor and blogger;

7. Alexis Pauline Gumbs, Feminist blogger; and

8. Brandann Ouyang Dan, Feminist blogger, invisibly disabled, U.S. Navy Veteran, social justice activist, and contributing writer for DisabledFeminist.com.

 

I hope you will join the discussion. Click here to listen to the show on Talkshoe.com.  There is a chat room for the radio show too. We will also use Tweetchat and the hashtag #digitalsisterhood for live tweeting and monitoring questions and comments from the Twitterverse.

Leave a Reply

