Nadia Jones

Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Nadia Jones


Nadia Jones

Meet Nadia Jones a/k/a Justice Jonesie

1) Write a six-word memoir to describe yourself.

Mother of three; trying to balance.

2) Tell us about your blog.

I am a savvy mom to three children, a lawyer, law professor, and blogger at JusticeJonesie.com. My blog discusses work-life balance, fitness, and her journey through motherhood. Blogging since 2006, I was one of three justices of the group blog, MamaLaw; a blog about three moms that “happened to be lawyers too.”  In 2009, we founded the Blogalicious Weekend conference. When I am not working or chasing after my children, you can find me at the gym or enjoying a chic night out on the town with my husband.

My favorite post from 2011 is called Monday Motivation: Where do you Find Balance? http://su.pr/1kcDCh

3) What is your definition of digital sisterhood?

Digital sisterhood is that kindred spirit bond that is created between you and another woman that you have met through social media. You read her blog, offer her advice, become a part of her life, even get to “know” her family. The bond shared between the two of you makes it feel like you have known each other for years. Digitally, you have found that friend you’ve always been looking for and the sister you never had.

4) What is your favorite 2011 digital sisterhood moment or experience?

I had several this year but I think my favorite digital sisterhood experience from 2011 was reading about two bloggers that shared Thanksgiving together. I’ve been reading both of their blogs for years and knew that they were close friends. I always assumed they knew each other in real life (outside of social media). I was so surprised when I read her Thanksgiving weekend recap and learned that they had finally met in person. One of the bloggers traveled with her family to the other blogger’s home and spent Thanksgiving weekend together. It was really a touching story, one that showed the true meaning of digital sisterhood.

5) The 2011 theme of Digital Sisterhood Month is ‘Celebrate the 4 Fs of Women’s Health: Feelings, Food, Fitness & Fierce Living.” How have you lived fiercely in 2011?

This was a year for me to celebrate myself. I decided on January 1st to make myself a priority and that would be accomplished by putting myself on my to-do list daily. I started living fiercely when in January I challenged myself to do my first half-marathon. I was not a runner and in fact, didn’t enjoy running, at all. Not only did I run my first half-marathon but I ended up doing two this year. Training for the half-marathons took my workouts to a whole new level. I feel better now than I have in years.

In addition to celebrating fitness this year, I also decided to travel abroad with my children for four weeks. We traveled to Mexico for a month where I was mostly disconnected from all things digital. I had the chance to give my children the experience of a lifetime and immerse them in my Mexican culture. It was definitely fierce for me to travel to a different country with my children to a place where I didn’t know anyone and was not totally fluent in the language. It was an amazing experience, one of my most fierce, by far.

6) How do you stay positive and maintain peace of mind?

I try to look at the bright side of things. It’s easy to get caught up in all the negative things that can happen to you daily or weekly. Focusing on the positive and how each day is an opportunity to learn and grow personally helps keep me focused on what is important. Life is full of challenges, you can choose to let them weigh you down or you can choose to learn and grow from them. I choose to grow!

7) What are your favorite healthy foods?

I love a good salad, fresh seafood, and sweet potatoes cooked any kind of way! My go-to snack is an apple and my favorite meal is breakfast. My favorite healthy breakfast is to make a healthy version of huevos rancheros. I make my healthy version with egg whites, turkey bacon, pineapple and mango salsa, and a Flaxseed & Blue Corn Blend Artisan Style Tortilla by Mission. It’s filling and very tasty!

8) How do you stay fit?

I do power yoga, run at least two times a week (four if I’m training), and sometimes I do TRX.

9) How are you planning to live fiercely in 2012?

I plan to do another half-marathon in the spring and during the hot summer months I will implement more yoga into my workouts. I also plan to work on personal growth and find balance between motherhood and everything else that I do. I am hoping that 2012 is my year to turn things around for the better!

10) Where can we find you online?

Web Site/Blog: www.justicejonesie.com/blog

Twitter: http://twitter.com/justicejonesie

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/justicejonesie

2 thoughts on “Digital Sisterhood Month’s Guest Blogger Series – Nadia Jones

Leave a Reply

